The Ego Hand Job


What is it about corporate Jamaica (or corporate anywhere for that matter) that stimulates a person’s inner glans, causing a constant and apparently desperate need for attention? I’m talking about the managers, supervisors and CEO’s who seem to suffer from an insatiable egotistical arousal. The entire system, it seems is designed to continually lubricate and stroke the ego of persons who hold these lofty positions (often undeservedly).

 

 

So you have an MBA …can I have your autograph? -_- 

Degrees, work experience, titles, age…so what? Don’t get me wrong, I agree that a person should be respected and appreciated for the work he has done and the successes he has achieved in his lifetime. But do I really need to continually polish off your swollen head with endless prostrations?

 

Say my name, bitch. 

How many of my young colleagues are forced to continually refer to their bosses as ‘Sir‘ even though it’s already been clearly established that he is your superior? Even the use of the words “Superior” and “Subordinate” wreak of self-gratification and to me are nothing more than sticky wastage.

How many of my young colleagues have had to sit across from an erect idiot as he tosses off his “performance review” in your face, with nothing but hot BS coursing through his veins? And of course you have to sit there and swallow  it all with a pleasant countenance for fear of being slapped with a throbbing citation. Isn’t it all a power tug with no more intention than to answer the age old question: “Who’s your Daddy?

 

It becomes clear where the American insult “Jerk” originates when you are forced to do irrelevant and insignificant things just because your boss wants to flex his muscles and show off his managerial bulge.  Who has ever been chewed out because they took an extra  10 minutes for lunch or been denied a day off because of  “staff strain”? There’s a strain on a staff indeed! Often (at least I believe so), employees are bullied and pushed around by these stiff, cocky upper-level “jerks” out of sheer ego and it’s nothing but a constant 5 on 1 for regular hard working staff.

 

Have an Ego Hand Job Story? Feel free to beat it off in the comments below. And don’t forget to share it with your friends… but wash your hands first!

 

 

 

 

  1. Evon, I completely agree with you. Egos have to be constantly stroked, eh? 🙂

  2. Thank you ever so for you article.Much thanks again. Really Great.

    • jerv
    • November 18th, 2011

    Cliched as this sounds ‘u hit d nail pan d ‘head’ I totally love this article klieon… Very good insight and the writing style is just… Superb

    • the Diplocrit
    • November 18th, 2011

    OMG! This describes the week i’ve just had. Today my supervisor was sitting closer to the bin than I was but she crumpled some paper and said “Kay throw this in the bin” and I had to get up and go throw it. Everyday she takes some time to stand near to me and watch what i’m doing, even if the task is as simple as putting some memos into a folder. I think my teeth are all ground out. lol. Mind you the highest level of education she has is an Associates Degree that she got last year. I was talking to another worker today who was telling me that she does these things to remind the others that she is in charge because it seems others are also more qualified than she is. She makes a big show about watching the clock when you walk in late, and mind you it seems like we have to each wait until she comes to us and say, “You can go to lunch now” My first day I got up at 12 and went to lunch, she came to the lunch room and said “Kay its not your time yet” hahaha. Yet still the very next day at 12 she said I could go to lunch and every day since. SMH!

    Anyway that’s my load blown there. lol Klieon you wrote it so much better than I would have. Thank you!

  3. Let’s talk about those superiors who have been employed in companies since Jesus was a boy & don’t know one ass what they r doing despite the rapidly CHANGING world.

    • shen Tab
    • November 18th, 2011

    Thumbs uo Klie! Loved this 🙂 Now this is a 10 out of 5, creativity at maximum levels! What I dislike is some of these persons in managerial positions got there by the grace of God or the molding or mentoring of their managers and some were subject to abuse and don’t feel the need to put an end to it. It is so sad that so many young ppl have to go through such abuse and disrespect. I thank God everyday that I am no in such situations bcuz I wud cry everyday when I can’t get to tell some1 where on him body to scratch or get fired when I can’t take it anymore!
    Awesome article !! I love it! Love it Love It, think you should send this to the traditional media, these ppl need to see this!

      • Charissa
      • November 18th, 2011

      I dont think traditional media would publish it lol. This is starting to become a pr link up on Klieon’s blog. lol

    • HAHA! Wow Shenee!!! Thanks a lot! Means a lot that you liked it so much! Even more so because the post came from a genuine place and is something I find myself really passionate about. I hate to see when young people are subjected to this foolishness and we’re not respected for the value we bring to an organization. lol I love how you want the Broadcasting Commission to assassinate me! lol!

  4. Charissa, you know I have seen that happen so much myself and I really feel it for my sisters who have to deal with it every day. I perhaps should have given it some attention in the post. I wonder sometimes if I’m the only male that feels there’s a time and place for certain things and that some relations are just not allowed, regardless of attraction. Not everything that you find good looking must be yours. HOWEVER, I have to put some heat on the women who have caused a lot of men to believe that by virtue of position, title and money they can get what they want from women… because in many cases that’s exactly right.

      • Charissa
      • November 18th, 2011

      EXACTLY!! You understand me! I have to wonder if their parents didnt teach them about everything having a time and place. And while it is true that are women who give men reason to think that, I just wished I could be treated on an individual basis and not be carted off into the pile of women that are holding auctions for the highest paid bidder. Its like a crime to be young, professional, and successful while still maintaining integrity and your own free will.

    • Charissa
    • November 18th, 2011

    Evon, i agree, Klieon your play on words here was quite worthy of a 5 out of 5 (#dead). My issue is moreso why all these 60 odd something yr old corporate men, esp the managers and CEOs feel now is the time in their lives when they should be checking a 20 sumn year old. Like… what? it didnt work when they were 20 so now theyre trying??? :s

  5. #COSIGN THAT IS ALL!!!! Love this – Your writing is superb.

    • Aww thank you! I hope you continue reading and sharing! ;D

  6. lol Thnx man! I thought the post necessary because I’ve been questioning a lot of the motive behind this corporate culture and the general behaviour of the “upper-class” and those who strive towards it… pure ego

    • Evon
    • November 18th, 2011

    Klieon your verbal creativity is admirable, enviable even. This post highlights exactly what is wrong with society today. Self gratification is the modus operandi and the corporate world and unless your willing to play then it will make your survival that much harder. granted, i wuld not have thought of using phallic imagery to discuss this topic but it hink it was very effective.

    Kudos Klinga Blinga!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

